No Excuses in 2012 and Slim Gingerbread Latte Recipe

So far this year I have been busy, busy (no surprise there),but things are starting to settle down a bit. My menu has been made (This week’s menu) and I have stuck to it. Woohoo! I have done yoga every day, including today after only four hours of sleep and at 6 a.m.

I have not made my elliptical running goals yet, but all in time. I need to settle into the routine little by little. Last night I had the urge for a cookie, but luckily I have nothing tasty and sweet in my house other than fruit so ha ha! Take that cookie craving.

The first two weeks of any new routine are always the hardest. They take time to get your body and your brain to agree to the change. So be patient and forgiving of yourself, but do not give up.

Today I have a very special guest post from Mandie Stevens at Time 4 Mommy and Reading on the Cheap. She brings us a delicious and light recipe for Gingerbread Lattes. Enjoy!

❤ Liz

Gingerbread Latte Recipe

I like this version so much better than Starbucks. Theirs is made with syrup and this is so much better for you. It’s amazing how much healthier you can make things when you just change a few ingredients.

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Espresso or real strong coffee (I use Decaf)

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of nutmeg

Skim or low fat milk ( I actually use Almond milk)

Agave nectar, to taste (or you can use honey)

Heavy Cream, for whipping if desired

Directions:

Brew your coffee or espresso. Add a teaspoon of agave nectar (more or less to taste; it’s sweeter than sugar). Steam your milk either with a steamer or in a pot on the stove until it’s 140-160¼F, and add the vanilla and spices. Add enough espresso to fill your cup a third of the way. Add the milk and top with the whipped cream if desired.

Recipe  adapted from creativecookingcorner

Mandie

2 thoughts on “No Excuses in 2012 and Slim Gingerbread Latte Recipe

  1. I’m glad to hear you that you are kicking the sweets habit; I think we all need positive goals to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. You certainly know how to appeal to a coffee-lover’s heart 🙂 I don’t have any agave nectare on hand, but I do have honey, so I might give this recipe a try tomorrow to keep the writing juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

