Stuffed Strawberries

Wednesday! We are half way there. I have had company visiting this week, so I prepared most of my dinners on Sunday. When I get home from work I pop dinner in the oven and visit with my aunt all evening. It has made for a relaxing week, which is always needed. I have been squeezing in my exercise in the mornings, which isn’t fun, but it does wake me up!

Today’s recipe is a dessert recipe. I know, I know, how am I supposed to lose weight while having dessert? Well the thing is sometimes I just need dessert. You know when the only thing you can think about has to do with sugar and even the sweets your normally do not like start to sound amazing, yep, that’s what I am talking about.

Whether it is because I am having guests over or because my sweets craving will not be squashed by the smell of a vanilla candle (though that does work surprisingly well), these tasty treats are easy, low calorie, and above all else delicious.

On New Year’s Eve I was playing on my favorite past time, Pinterest. I saw a picture of Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries and thought I bet I can make those for tonight. So I set to work first thinking about how to make the light yet maintain the delicious flavor.

Picture from Pinterest

Light (not organic) Stuffed Strawberries

Ingredients:

–      Strawberries

–      Jello Sugar-free Cheesecake Pudding Mix

–      Light Cool Whip

Instructions:

In a mixing bowl combine the pudding mix with one container of light Cool Whip. Core strawberries. Take a ziplock bag and fill with pudding mixture. Cut the corner off the bag and pipe into the center of each strawberry.

That’s it. Simple, right? And these treats only clock in at about 30 calories. All of the strawberries were devoured as soon as I set them down at the party, a definite hit. 

(My picture to come)   

HOWEVER,

They are not organic. So I have been further investigating how I could make them organic as well as light. I haven’t had a chance to do much experimenting with them yet, but I will. I have found an organic vanilla pudding mix that I could combine with homemade whipped cream. Or I could just make a homemade pudding and fill each strawberry with that. I will try it out and report back.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding (from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Directions

  1. In medium saucepan over medium heat, heat milk until bubbles form at edges. In a bowl, combine sugar, cornstarch and salt. Pour into hot milk, a little at a time, stirring to dissolve. Continue to cook and stir until mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. Do not boil. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and butter. Pour into serving dishes. Chill before serving.
3 thoughts on “Stuffed Strawberries

Leave a Reply

