Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am Heather, one of the other blog contributors.  I am a working mom of three rambunctious boys, so I am always in search of new, yummy recipes that are fast, easy, low-calorie(for me) and something they will eat.  Being the week before Christmas, I left out the low-cal part of my search.  I came across a recipe labeled as New York Times Best Cookie and decided to give it a whirl.  Of course, I changed some of the ingredients and directions since my four-year old was making them with me and I need it to be quick and easy.  The final result: IMG_3277This recipe was adapted from: http://tendercrumb.blogspot.com/2008/09/my-favorite-chocolate-chip-cookie.html for Jacques Torres’ Secret Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.

Ingredients

 1/2 pound unsalted butter, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 1/8 cups light-brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1.5 cups plus 1 tablespoons pastry flour, 1.5 cups bread flour, 1/2 tablespoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 tablespoon pure vanilla extract, 1 pound bittersweet chocolate (I used chips though I agree that big chunks would be even better!)

IMG_3263

While preheating the oven to 350 degrees, mix together the butter and sugars until creamy. IMG_3264

Next, add the eggs, while mixing after each one.IMG_3265

Finally, mix in the rest of the ingredients on low speed.

IMG_3266IMG_3267

Bake 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees.

IMG_3271

Enjoy with a big glass of ice-cold milk!  Yummy!

IMG_3274

Love the melted gooey chocolate!

IMG_3277

Leave a Reply

