Lava Flows

lava2

When we were vacationing in Hawaii, my husband and I came across this drink called a Lava Flow.  Being the biggest coconut fan ever, I knew I just had to try it.  Coconut, banana, pineapple, strawberries and alcohol…how could you possibly go wrong?  Let me warn you now, that these are super addictive!  There are several different variants of the recipe, but here’s how we make it:

Ingredients (Makes about two full glasses):

2oz of cream of coconut
3oz of light rum (coconut is best in my opinion)
4oz of pineapple juice
1 banana
1 cup of crushed ice
1/2 cup of strawberry puree (I just blended strawberries myself)

Directions:

Blend all the ingredients, except the strawberry puree, until thick like a milkshake.  (You may need to add more ice to get a good consistency.) Pour the strawberry puree into a glass first.  Then fill the rest of the glass with the blended drink mixture.  Garnish with a strawberry or pineapple slice.  (You can also drizzle any remaining strawberry puree over the top of the drink.)  I honestly like to blend my strawberry puree in with the rest of the drink so it has that strawberry taste throughout, although you lose the “lava flow” effect.  Enjoy!

lava
(This is what it looks like if you blend the strawberry puree in with the other ingredients – like a pink milkshake.)

Leave a Reply

